Cranberry Chocolate chip Cookie Coming Right Up!

It has been raining all weekend long. What’s best to do on a raining day? Staying indoors! After having a dim sum brunch with friends and family, I headed straight home as I had a sudden urge to bake. My mom suggested to make some steamed buns, which I fulfilled. But somehow I wasn’t satisfied because I was making the same kinds of buns as I did before. Nothing interesting. Then something struck me. I want to make a test batch of cookie which I plan to make for a cancer fundraising event this upcoming week. I use one of Anna Olsen’s recipe from Oh Yum with Anna Olsen YouTube channel with some alteration.

Ingredients

4oz of soften unsalted butter

1/2 cup of light brown sugar

1/2 cup of granulated sugar (I use a little less than 1/2 cup as my family members don’t like it too sweet)

1 large egg

1 tsp of vanilla extract (I used almond extract because I ran out of vanilla extract)

1 1/4 cup of all purpose flour

1 Tbsp cornstarch

1/2 tsp baking soda (I used baking powder in this case)

1/2 tsp salt (I use a pinch)

1 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I didn’t measure mines, I just add as much as I like)

1 cup of chopped pecans (instead of nuts, I use dried Cranberries)

Methodology:

Combined both sugars with butter using a spatula until well blend. Then add an egg to the mixture and blend it well. Next fold in all the dry ingredients and mix it well. Lastly, add chocolate chips and dried cranberries into the mixture.  Before baking them, Use a spoon to scoop out the dough to form small individual balls,  place them onto a cookie sheet 2-3 inches apart from each other and refrigerate it for an hour.

What I learned and noticed when I bake two batches of cookies one on each rack inside the oven is that the lower rack will always cook faster than the top ones. After about 20 mins, I let it cool and enjoy.

cookie0

 

One thought on “Cranberry Chocolate chip Cookie Coming Right Up!

Leave a Reply

